

1021 O Street, Suite 3110 - Sacramento CA 95814 - www.dof.ca.gov

May 25, 2022

Honorable Nancy Skinner, Chair Joint Legislative Budget Committee Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Honorable Phil Ting, Chair Assembly Budget Committee

Honorable Anthony Portantino, Chair Senate Appropriations Committee Honorable Chris R. Holden, Chair Assembly Appropriations Committee

Notification to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee—Update to the Safe Schools for All Team Expenditure Plan

Pursuant to Chapter 10, Statutes of 2021 (Assembly Bill 86), the following report is respectfully submitted.

In April 2021, the Department of Finance notified the Joint Legislative Budget Committee of the Department of Public Health's (DPH) expenditure plan to support the Safe Schools for All Team. As of May 2022, the majority of the \$25 million appropriation has been allocated; however, eight local health jurisdictions in the Northern California and Greater Sacramento regions have declined funding totaling approximately \$585,000. DPH requests to reallocate these funds to one or more community-based organizations (CBO). DPH has begun the process of identifying and developing scopes of work for potential contractors in consultation with Northern California and Greater Sacramento health officers.

DPH will continue to provide quarterly reports to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee until funds are expended and activities are completed and will include a summary of CBO activities in the final report, anticipated to be submitted in February 2023.

Finance concurs with DPH's revised spending plan, and requests a waiver of the 30-day review period from the above date to allow DPH to exercise contracting options under the statewide emergency order and execute CBO contracts before summer recess commences in schools.

If you have any questions or need additional information regarding this matter, please call Sonal Patel, Principal Program Budget Analyst, at (916) 445-6423.

KEELY MARTIN BOSLER Director

By:

ERIKA LI

Chief Deputy Director

cc: On following page

CC: Honorable Dr. Joaquin Arambula, Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 1 Honorable Susan Talamantes Eggman, Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee No. 3

Honorable Jim Nielsen, Vice Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee

Honorable Vince Fong, Vice Chair, Assembly Budget Committee Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst (3)

Elisa Wynne, Staff Director, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Kirk Feely, Fiscal Director, Senate Republican Fiscal Office

Christopher W. Woods, Senate President pro Tempore's Office (2)

Christian Griffith, Chief Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee

Joseph Shinstock, Fiscal Director, Assembly Republican Caucus, Office of Policy

and Budget Paul Dress, Caucus Co-Chief of Staff, Assembly Republican Leader's Office

Paul Dress, Caucus Co-Chief of Staff, Assembly Republican Leader's Office Katja Townsend, Capitol Director, Assembly Republican Leader's Office Jason Sisney, Assembly Speaker's Office (2)

Mark McKenzie, Staff Director, Senate Appropriations Committee
Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee
Mark Ghaly, Secretary, California Health and Human Services Agency
Marko Mijic, Undersecretary, California Health and Human Services Agency
Brendan McCarthy, Deputy Secretary of Program and Fiscal Affairs, California
Health and Human Services Agency

Julie Souliere, Assistant Secretary, California Health and Human Services Agency Tomás J. Aragón, State Public Health Officer, Director of California Department of Public Health

Brandon Nunes, Chief Deputy Director of Operations, California Department of Public Health

Susan Fanelli, Chief Deputy Director of Policy and Programs, California Department of Public Health

Phuong La, Deputy Director, Financial Management Branch, California Department of Public Health