

March 12, 2025

Honorable Scott D. Wiener, Chair Joint Legislative Budget Committee Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee

Honorable Anna M. Caballero, Chair Senate Appropriations Committee Honorable Jesse Gabriel, Chair Assembly Budget Committee

Honorable Buffy Wicks, Chair Assembly Appropriations Committee

## Notification of Medical Providers Interim Payment Loan—Department of Health Care Services

Pursuant to Government Code section 16531.1, subdivision (a), paragraph (3) and subdivision (c), the following information is respectfully submitted.

The Department of Finance approved a request for a Medical Providers Interim Payment Fund Ioan of \$3.44 billion on March 4, 2025 to allow the Department of Health Care Services to complete critical payments. The General Fund Ioan was necessary due to projected increased fiscal year 2024-25 Medi-Cal expenditures compared to the 2024 Budget Act.

The Department of Health Care Services may utilize the loan, as authorized by Government Code section 16531.1, to make payments to various Medi-Cal providers.

If you have any questions or need additional information regarding this matter, please contact Guadalupe Manriquez, Program Budget Manager at (916) 445-6423 or at Guadalupe.Manriquez@dof.ca.gov.

JOE STEPHENSHAW Director By:

ERIKA LI Chief Deputy Director

cc: On following page

cc: Honorable Dawn Addis, Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 1 Honorable Akilah Weber Pierson, Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review

Subcommittee No. 3

Honorable Roger W. Niello, Vice Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee

Honorable Heath Flora, Vice Chair, Assembly Budget Committee Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst (3)

Elisa Wynne, Staff Director, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Kirk Feely, Fiscal Director, Senate Republican Fiscal Office

Christopher W. Woods, Senate President pro Tempore's Office (2)

Christian Griffith, Chief Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee

Joseph Shinstock, Fiscal Director, Assembly Republican Caucus, Office of Policy and Budget

Paul Dress, Caucus Co-Chief of Staff, Assembly Republican Leader's Office Katja Townsend, Capitol Director, Assembly Republican Leader's Office Jason Sisney, Assembly Speaker's Office (2)

Mark McKenzie, Staff Director, Senate Appropriations Committee

Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee

Michelle Baass, Director, Department of Health Care Services